I grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, what we considered to be the beer capital of the USA! I always thought of beer as an alcoholic beverage, and nothing more. Now, I see, I am mistaken. Many beers contain skin, tissue, blood and bones from cows, pigs and fish. Who ever would have thought!? The thought of consuming this is gross. But the thought of these ingredients not needing to make it on the label is criminal!

Here’s what is safe to drink, if you are concerned about those poor vulnerable animals, and about your health. Drink Pabst (a Milwaukee staple), Amstel, Coronoa, Heineken, New Belgium Brewery, Sierra Nevada, or Tectate.

AVOID Castle Rock, Guinness, New Castle Brown Ale, and Red Stripe.

Read for yourself the list of ingredients derived from animal.

Now, to find out more about what you are drinking, or if you are looking for vegan choices in beer, wine, and other libations, then click here


  1. […] Wine is sometimes made with animal products. While wine is essentially made from grapes, on occasion animal products are used in small amounts in the production process, and these wines would not be suitable to be part of a vegetarian or vegan diet. […]

  2. Wow — this is amazing! There are so many microbrews out there now — I’m glad someone out there is paying attention. Maybe they’ll make some changes.

    I’m glad to hear some of my favorites are on the vegan list, including, AleSmith, Allagash, Avery, Chimay, Smaltz (Coney Island), Delirium, Dogfish Head, Firestone, Full Sail, Great Divide, Hop Dog, Samuel Smiths, Lagunitas, Portsmouth, Russian River (except brewpub), Samuel Adams (except Cherry & Honey), Speakeasy & Stone.

    I’m going to stop drinking some of my previous favorites — that are completely or partially non-vegan – e.g., Bear Republic, Granville, Guinness, Hobgoblin, Coronado, Marin (Cask), Maui Honey, Rogue Chocolate & Cask.

    You might have guessed that Angus Ales, Buffalo Sweat, Hogs Back, & Butts is not vegan 🙂