Save 15% at Promo Code: BSKTSAVE15 - 468x60

2 cups confectioners powdered sugar
1/4 cup Silk Soy (use creamer or vanilla flavor)
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup soft Earth Balance
1/4 cup plus 2 TBL cocoa powder (Green & Black’s organic) *

Combine in bowl and beat with electric mixer until smooth. *For chocolate frosting, add in cocoa powder and beat until smooth.

All treats, no tricks! Save 15% on Halloween Flowers & Gifts at Use Promotion Code HLWNOFFER at checkout. - 468x60

Tortillas (medium sized)
Rosarita Vegetarian Refried Beans (1/4 cup per tortilla)
Bell pepper (1/8 per burrito), diced into small pieces
Daiya cheese (I like to use both yellow and mozzarella)
Olive oil to brush on top of rolled burritos
Scallions for garnish
Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lay out tortillas. Spread in about 1/4 cup beans per tortilla, spreading it light to the edges. Sprinkle in diced bell pepper and Daiya cheese. Roll in sides of burrito and then fold over one end up into the middle, continuing to fold over again so folded side is now facing down. Continue to do this with as many burritos as you need. Brush the tops of each burrito with a very light amount of olive oil. Bake in oven for 20 minutes. Once done, sprinkle the tops with yellow Daiya and keep in the turned-off oven to melt, about 2 minutes. Garnish with guacamole and Tofutti, scallions and salsa. Customize the inside veggies to your liking.

iTunes & App Store

Amy’s Soy Cheese Vegan Rice Crust Pizza
diced bell pepper
chopped broccoli
Daiya Mozzarella shredded cheese
Lightlife Smart Deli Pepperoni slices


Start with Amy’s frozen pizza and customize it to your liking before placing in the oven. I like to add bell pepper, broccoli, Daiya cheese and Lightlife Smart Deli Pepperoni slices. Bake pizza according to Amy’s boxed pizza package instructions and enjoy. Add a side green salad to complete the meal.

As important as minerals are to the body, so are vitamins D and B12.

Vitamin D is a ‘free’ vitamin and is obtained from sunlight exposure. Spend 10-15 minutes 2-3x per week to stimulate vitamin D production. Vitamin D regulates the absorption and excretion of calcium. You can also obtain by drinking vitamin D fortified orange juice, almond, soy or rice milks. This vitamin is important for vegetarian kids and vegans, and knowing that there are other ways to get it is key. If you’re an indoors person, then try a vitamin D supplement. Recommended daily intake is 1,000 to 2,000 IU.  This site has many healthy vegetarian recipes (vegan) and healthy dessert recipes that contain soy milk, so look to get some vitamin D when cooking.

Vitamin B12 helps to maintain healthy nerve cells and red blood cells as well as the production of DNA. Since the human body stores several years’ worth of B12, a deficiency is uncommon. B12 is not made by plants or animals. Bacteria is charged for B12 production. Animals happen to get B12 from consuming foods contaminated with this vitamin and then it becomes a source in human consumption.  Since B12 requirement is low, this may not be a concern. However, strict vegetarians and vegans may consider taking a B12 supplement if you are not consuming other B12 sources. Other sources would include nutritional yeast, fortified beverages and cereals, and vegetarian meat such as wheat gluten or soybean meat substitutes. I like to use liquid B12 by Natures Answer which I can put under my tongue or mix in with a smoothie. This brand is animal free.  Try to get approximately 50 mg each of the B vitamins (B1 thiamine, B2 riboflavin, B3 niacin, B5 pantothenic acid, B6 pyridoxine), and 500 mcg of B12. B’s are best taken earlier in the day because they help to increase energy levels. Order now

Or, if you like lolli pops, order these rich in vitamin B12, only one a day needed. Order now

Always read labels, even when it comes to buying vitamins as many use fish oils and other ingredients derived from animal. Try vegan main course dishes from this site that contain vegetarian meat (vegan, such as soy crumbles, tempeh, textured protein).

Consult your doctor on what vitamins you are taking and how they may affect other medications you may be taking.

Visit here for kid and teen RDA and here for adults.


I grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, what we considered to be the beer capital of the USA! I always thought of beer as an alcoholic beverage, and nothing more. Now, I see, I am mistaken. Many beers contain skin, tissue, blood and bones from cows, pigs and fish. Who ever would have thought!? The thought of consuming this is gross. But the thought of these ingredients not needing to make it on the label is criminal!

Here’s what is safe to drink, if you are concerned about those poor vulnerable animals, and about your health. Drink Pabst (a Milwaukee staple), Amstel, Coronoa, Heineken, New Belgium Brewery, Sierra Nevada, or Tectate.

AVOID Castle Rock, Guinness, New Castle Brown Ale, and Red Stripe.

Read for yourself the list of ingredients derived from animal.

Now, to find out more about what you are drinking, or if you are looking for vegan choices in beer, wine, and other libations, then click here

iTunes & App Store

Many vegan products are naturally gluten-free. Most gluten-free products will display the symbol on the package, although you cannot count on The Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) lack of guidelines, so read labels. Most likely, if you cannot have gluten, you already know it and watch what you buy from grocery stores.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, oats and other grains/flours. A gluten-free diet is one that contains no wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet, triticale and all crossbred varieties and derivatives of these grains. The FDA standards for foods labeled gluten-free is voluntary. There is no regulation. It is up to the manufacturer whether or not to include it on the label. Products may actually contain small amounts of gluten and still be labeled gluten-free, so always read ingredients before buying. Also, there are many foods that are naturally gluten-free that may not have the gluten-free label on its package.

Gluten sensitivity can cause a serious reaction in people who have celiac disease,  a chronic inflammatory disorder that affects digestion in the small intestine. This disease is genetic and is triggered by ingesting gluten proteins, naturally found in some grains.

Foods that contain barley, wheat (wheat germ, wheat grass), rye, bulgar, spelt, kamut, triticale, couscous, farina, graham flour, matzo, seitan, vital gluten, semolina and malt vinegar cannot use the term gluten-free in labeling. However, know that products may contain oats and still be labeled gluten-free. Some individuals with Celiac can tolerate a small daily intake of oats, so it was the consensus of nutrition experts, among others, that oats be allowed.

Naturally gluten-free foods and grains are fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, beans, legumes, potatoes, corn, rice, soy, tapioca, quinoa, amaranth, millet, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava and sorghum.

Tips for adjusting a recipe to be gluten-free include using cornstarch or sweet rice flour in place of regular flour to thicken sauces and gravies. Just don’t overheat them since starches break down and get thin when heated too long. Also, save broken pieces of your gluten-free loaves to make your own bread crumbs and grind in a food processor. Rice crackers and cornmeal also work well of bread crumbs. Use gluten-free bouillon cubes and prepared broths in soups, stews, gravies, and casseroles.

Did you know that most alcohol is made from gluten? The distilling process is what removes the gluten, making it gluten-free. However, beer, ale and lager still contain gluten. Beware of toothpaste, cosmetics such as lipsticks, soaps and play-doh. Gluten is elastic to help bind and keep shape. 

Visit this site for a list of products by category and brand to see what is gluten free. Note, not all products on this site are vegan, so be discriminating.

Celiac disease Foundation

The Gluten Intolerance Group

Recommended reading listed here.